Wacom Bamboo with Ubuntu 11.04

I’ve borrowed a Wacom Bamboo Fun tablet from a colleague. Connected it. And started searching for how to install the drivers. Took me quite some time to realise, that the tablet was already working! Just like a mouse. Both touch and pen. A few remarks:

  • Multi-touch is not supported as of now.
  • The program to control the device is called xsetwacom, it was installed by default in my Ubuntu distribution.
  • xsetwacom --list devices lists all available devices’ names
  • In my case, xsetwacom --set "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 6x8 Finger pad" touch off switches touch off
  • xsetwacom --get "Wacom Bamboo 2FG 6x8 Finger pad" touch shows the touch status

Update 2011-08: Bought a Wacom Bamboo Pen & Touch (CTH-460). Works without problems as well. I find its size more suitable for drawing small sketches.

4 thoughts on “Wacom Bamboo with Ubuntu 11.04

  1. Hi
    thank you for this review
    I you have the time can answer of thoses questions?
    I hesitate between buying an Apple Magic trackpad or a Wacom Bamboo Pen & Touch.
    do you think the tablet is enough accurate sensitive and confortable to be using as a big trackpad?
    are the multitouch gestures working well in ubuntu now?
    if yes Is the gesture recognizer “touchégg” working with tis tablet ?
    https://code.google.com/p/touchegg/
    How many fingers this tablet can detect?

    thank you
    PS: sorry for my english it’s not my natural language

    1. @Plusitard: I am afraid I cannot help you at the moment: 1) I am working in Windows for now, and 2) I am not using gestures. So in principle I do not need Pen & Touch, I would be find with just Pen. But wanted to have everything to try, it’s my first tablet and it was paid by my employer any way 🙂

      In general I would think the tablet is definitely sensitive and precise enough, but it may be two large for being used just as a touchpad, you’ll loose a lot of space on the table without any benefit. Do not buy it if you don’t want to use pen.

    2. I’ve played with Touch functions in Windows a little, and I don’t like them. At least in Firefox and Picasa, the reaction is not smooth enough, and it does not always recognize the gestures correctly. The pointing functionality however is OK. I couldn’t find out if it supports more than two fingers gestures.

      1. thank you for your quick and accurate answer.
        I still hesitate wich one to choose because I just discover that Wacom release a new Tablet: CTH470, I don’t know if it’s the same hardware with just some design improvement or a totally new one.
        I gonna wait to have some review of this one.
        see you

Leave a Reply

